Scientific Advisory Board

Scientific Advisory Board

Tenure of office: 2011-2016 & 2014-2019

The Scientific Advisory Boards constitute the central instrument of the self-supporting scientific evaluation of the Max Planck Society. For very basic reasons such monitoring of standards is essential to the Max Planck Society: externally to justify the funds with which it is entrusted and on which there have always been ceilings; internally, to enlarge the scope and competence of the various administrative organs of the Max Planck Society so they may decide on essential aspects of their own development, both in the individual Institutes and overall.

Prof. Dr. Meigan C. Aronson (2014-2019)
Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton NY, USA

Prof. Dr. Peter G. Bruce (2011-2016)
University of Oxford, Department of Materials, Oxford, United Kingdom

Prof. Dr. Claude Delmas (2011-2016)
Université Bordeaux 1, ICMCB-CNRS, Pessac, France

Prof. Dr. Roland A. Fischer (2011-2016)
Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Anorganische Chemie II, Organometallics & Materials, Bochum, Germany

Prof. Dr. Giulia A. Galli (2011-2016)
University of California, Department of Chemistry, Davis, CA, USA

Prof. Dr. Antoine Georges (2011-2016)
College de France, Institut de Physique, Paris, France

Dr. Andreas Heinrich (2011-2016)
IBM Research Center, San José, CA, USA

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Heiz (2011-2016)
Technische Universität München, Germany

Prof. Dr. Harold Hwang (2011-2016)
School of Humanities and Sciences, Stanford University, Department of Applied Physics, USA

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Janek (2014-2019)
Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen, Physikalisch-Chemisches Institut, Gießen, Germany

Prof. Dr. Leo Kouwenhoven (2011-2016)
Delft University of Technology, Faculty of Applied Sciences, Delft, The Netherlands

Prof. Dr. Antoine Maignan (2011-2016)
CRISMAT UMR6508 6, Caen, France

Prof. Dr. Nai Phuan Ong (2014-2019)
Priceton University, Department of Physics, Princeton, NJ, USA

Prof. Dr. Subir Sachdev (2014-2019)
Harvard University, Department of Physics, Cambridge, USA

Prof. Dr. Gustavo E. Scuseria (2014-2019)
Rice University, Department of Chemistry, Houston, TX, USA

Prof. Dr. Ram Seshadri (2014-2019)
University of California, Materials Research Laboratory, Santa Barbara, CA, USA