Prof. Dr. Bettina V. Lotsch



Nanochemistry Department
Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research
Heisenbergstr. 1
70569 Stuttgart

Phone:+49 711 689-1610


Chemistry Department
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

Butenandtstr. 5-13 (Haus D)
81377 München

Phone:+49 89 2180-77429
Fax:+49 89 2180-77806


Career Summary

01/2023 –         Managing Director, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart

10/2020 –         Honorary Professor, Faculty of Chemistry, University of Stuttgart

08/2017 –         Honorary Professor, Chemistry Department, LMU Munich

01/2017 –         Director, Nanochemistry Department, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart

08/2011 – 12/2016   Independent group leader, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart

02/2009 – 01/2017   Associate professor (tenure 2014), Chemistry Department, LMU Munich   



2007 – 2008  Postdoc, University of Toronto, Canada (with Prof. G. A. Ozin)

2006                PhD in Chemistry (summa cum laude), University of Munich (LMU), Germany

2002                Diploma in Chemistry, University of Munich (LMU), Germany

1999 – 2000   Visiting Student, University of Oxford, Balliol College


Fellowships & Awards (Selection)

2023               Baker Lecture, Cornell University, USA

2023               Highly Cited Researcher, Web of Science (Clarivate)

2023               Materials Lectureship Award, University of Warwick, UK

2022               Sheikh Saqr Materials Lecture 2022, JNCASR Bangalore, India

2022               Chini Memorial Award Lecture, Società Chimica Italiana, Divisione de Chimica Inorganica

2021               Elected Member of the Heidelberger Akademie der Wissenschaften (Landesakademie Baden-Württemberg)

2021               Haworth Lecture, University of Birmingham, UK

2021               CNR Rao Award Lecture (online), Chemical Research Society of India

2017               EU-40 Materials Prize, European Materials Research Society (EMRS)

2015 and       Selected as “Young Elite - the Top 40 under 40 in Economy, Politics, and Society” by CAPITAL

2014               ERC Starting Grant

2014               Elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC)

2008               Fast Track Scholarship, Robert Bosch Foundation

2007               E.ON Culture Prize

2007               Feodor Lynen Postdoc Scholarship (Alexander von Humboldt-Foundation)

2007               Dissertation Award (Stiftungspreis), LMU Munich

2006               Selected participant of the Nobel Laureate Meeting in Lindau, Germany

2004               PhD scholarship, German National Academic Foundation

2004               Participant in the BRIGHT Students’ Conference of the League of European Research Universities (LERU) in Leiden

2003               PhD scholarship, Fonds der Chemischen Industrie (FCI)

2002               Faculty Prize (best diploma)

2000               Herbert-Marcinek Prize (best preliminary diploma)

1997               Scholarship of the Stiftung Maximilianeum (Bavarian foundation for highly gifted students)

1997               Scholarship, German National Academic Foundation (Studienstiftung d. Dt. Volkes)


Commissions of Trust (Selection)

2023 –              Advisory Board Member, QuantumBW

2023 –              Advisory Board Member, SFB 1452 CLINT - Catalysis at Liquid Interfaces, Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

2022 –              Advisory Committee, INN Demokritos, Athens, Greek

2019 – 2021    Jury Member, Rei Jaume I Awards, Generalitat Valenciana, Spain

2019 –              Scientific Advisory Board, ICMol, University of Valencia, Spain

2018 – 2024    Professorial Committee, IST Austria

2014 – 2020    Scientific Advisory Board, EPSRC Doctoral Training Center Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (NanoDTC), University of Cambridge, UK    

2014 – 2020    Scientific Selection Board of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

2013 – 2022    Editorial Board Member, The Annual Review of Materials Research, Annual Reviews


Publication Summary

Number of published papers: >250; Total citations: 23118; h-index: 79 (Google Scholar, 02/2024)

Go to Editor View