Scientific Advisory Board

Scientific Advisory Board

January 01, 2023

The Scientific Advisory Boards constitute the central instrument of the self-supporting scientific evaluation of the Max Planck Society. For very basic reasons such monitoring of standards is essential to the Max Planck Society: externally to justify the funds with which it is entrusted and on which there have always been ceilings; internally, to enlarge the scope and competence of the various administrative organs of the Max Planck Society so they may decide on essential aspects of their own development, both in the individual Institutes and overall.

Prof. Dr. Meigan C. Aronson

Dean of The University of British Columbia, Faculty of Science, British Columbia, Canada

Prof. Dr. J. Paul Attfield
The University of Edinburgh, Centre for Science at Extreme Conditions, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Prof. Dr. Peter G. Bruce (Chair)
University of Oxford, Department of Materials, Oxford, United Kingdom

Prof. Dr. Steven De Feyter
KU Leuven, Molecular Imaging and Photonics, Leuven, Belgium

Prof. Dr. Supratik Guha
The University of Chicago, Pritzker Molecular Engineering, Chicago, USA

Prof. Dr. Martin P. Head-Gordon
University of California, College of Chemistry, Berkeley, USA

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Janek
Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen, Physikalisch-Chemisches Institut, Gießen, Germany

Prof. Dr. Mercouri G. Kanatzidis
Northwestern University, Department of Chemistry, Evanston, IL, USA

Prof. Dr. Maki Kawai
National Institutes of Natural Sciences, Institute for Molecular Science, Okazaki, Japan

Prof. Dr. Nai Phuan Ong
Princeton University, Department of Physics, Princeton, NJ, USA

Prof. Dr. Subir Sachdev
Harvard University, Department of Physics, Cambridge, MA, USA

Prof. Dr. Jörg Schmalian
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Institut für Theorie der Kondensierten Materie, Karlsruhe, Germany

Prof. Dr. Gustavo E. Scuseria
Rice University, Department of Chemistry, Houston, TX, USA

Prof. Dr. Ram Seshadri
University of California, Materials Research Laboratory, Santa Barbara, CA, USA

Prof. Dr. Herre S. J. van der Zant
Delft University of Technology, Faculty of Applied Sciences, Kavli Institute of Nanoscience, Delft, The Netherlands

Go to Editor View