Scientific career

since 2017   Member of the Max Planck-UBC-UTokyo Center for Quantum Materials
since 2016   Permanent Staff Scientist, Group Leader, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research
2009–2016 Group Leader, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research
2007–2009 Postdoctoral Fellow, Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics, University of California, Santa Barbara
2003–2007 PhD in Theoretical Physics, ETH Zürich and Paul Scherrer Institute, Supervisors: Ch. Mudry and M. Sigrist


2015   Walter Schottky Prize (jointly with Frank Pollmann)
2003   Polya Prize for best diploma, awarded by ETH Zürich

Research fields and interests

  • Topological phenomena in condensed matter systems
  • Unconventional superconductivity
  • Non-equilibrium phenomena in closed quantum systems
  • Disordered systems and Anderson localization
  • Strongly correlated electronic systems
  • Synthetic quantum matter
  • Spin and orbital frustration in quantum magnets
  • Quantum computation and quantum information

Group members

  • Postdocs: Moritz Hirschmann
  • PhD students: Andreas Leonhardt, Kirill Alpin, Niclas Heinsdorf, Raymond Wiedmann
  • Master students: Kirill Parshukov

Open Positions

There is always room for motivated and talented students and postdocs. If you are interested send me an e-mail. Prospective PhD students should apply through one of our research schools:

Former group members

  • Postdocs: Xianxin Wu (now at ITP CAS Bejing), Darshan Joshi (now at Harvard), Yuxin Zhao (now Professor at Nanjing University), Satoshi Ikegaya (now at Nagoya University)
  • PhD students: Wenbin Rui (now at Hongkong University), Raquel Queiroz (now Professor at Columbia University)
  • Master students: Sayan Banerjee, Wan Yee Yau, Berkay Kilic, Henri Menke, Moritz Hirschmann, Johannes Hofmann
  • Internship students: Jonathan Zhang, Mohamed Shaaban, Xueyang Song, Alex Toews, Darrick Lee, Michael Förster

Talks and lectures



Review Articles:

Complete List of Publications

Publications and Citations from Google Scholar


Dr. Andreas Schnyder
Max Planck Institute for Solid State Reserach
Heisenbergstr. 1
Office # 5 D 19
D-70569 Stuttgart

Phone: +49 (0)711 689 1553
Fax:     +49 (0)711 689 1702

Go to Editor View